Baltimore Sun Wins Regional News Organization of the Year – Baltimore Sun


The Baltimore Sun was named News Organization of the Year Friday among major newspapers, and Baltimore Sun Media publications and journalists have won more than 150 honors in the annual Maryland-Delaware-DC Press Association awards competition.

Since 2009, The Sun has won the award for news organization of the year among daily newspapers with more than 75,000 copies. Sun staff won more awards this time with 89 first and second place categories compared to last year with 76.

The recognition from MDDC is a reminder that Baltimore Sun Media’s journalists are still among the best in the country, said publisher and editor Trif Alatzas.

“We are proud of the hard work Baltimore Sun Media reporters do to inform this region every day. And we are grateful that readers have supported this institution for 185 years,” said Alatzas. “Our staff understand the great responsibility we have to help inform this community with trusted journalism that holds leaders and institutions accountable.”

Association members and supporters have come together virtually this week to highlight the news with integrity and excellence in journalism by recognizing the winners for their work in 2021.

Tracie Rawson won Designer of the Year. Her portfolio stood out for her ability to navigate print and digital platforms, the association said. Rawson’s work was creative, clean and complete, the judges said. The last time she won this award was in 2019.

Emerging journalist Christine Condon won the Rookie of the Year award, which honors a new journalist with less than 18 months of experience in the field. Condon was honored for her range and ability, showing songwriting skills, tenacity and versatility that go far beyond her age and experience. The award was judged by members of the MDDC Press Foundation Board of Trustees.

Last minute alerts

As it happens

Be informed of the latest news as it happens and informed about other must-see content with our free news alerts.

Among other newspapers owned by Baltimore Sun Media, The Capital Gazette of Annapolis received 22 awards; The Carroll County Times received 21; The Harford Aegis got 12; The Towson Times got 4; the Howard County Times got 5; and The Catonsville Times received 2.

The Sun won 16 Best Show awards, an award that recognizes the best overall entry among all first-place winners in each division.

The seven-division contest is governed by the MDDC Editorial and Publicity Committees and admitted more than 1,500 entries from 48 member publications across 85 categories. A Best in Show award is given in each category across all divisions. These entries were judged by media professionals from the Missouri Press Association.


About Author

Comments are closed.